Home | Eden Prairie School District | EPHS
Foundation for Eden Prairie Schools

Randell D. Voas Memorial Scholarship


About Randy

(Adapted from "Local residents gave the ultimate sacrifice in service to their country" by Jessica Harper, Thisweek Newspapers.)


Major Randell VoasA career soldier in the U.S. Air Force, Major Randell Voas served 19 years in the military, including service in South Korea and Iraq. As a child growing up in Eden Prairie, Randy was a “boy’s boy” who enjoyed the outdoors and youth sports. He had lots of friends and was a good student.


After graduating from Eden Prairie High School in 1985, Randy enrolled at the University of Minnesota where he earned a bachelor’s degree in biology. In 1991, Randy decided to enlist in the U.S. Army to fly helicopters. He spent eight years actively flying in the Army prior to transferring to the Special ops Unit in the USAF. Randy's last assignment was to the 8th Special Ops as an Initial Codre for the CV22 Osprey stationed at Hurlburt Field Florida. Although he took a career path in the military, Randy continued to further his education while in the Air Force by earning his master’s in business administration in 2009.


While he was a disciplined soldier when on duty, Randy was a kind-hearted friend, father to two children, Maddeline and Mitchell, and husband to Jill. Randy not only possessed good common sense, but his honesty and integrity were above reproach.


On April 9th, 2010, Major Randell D. Voas gave his life defending our freedom as a CV22 Osprey Aircraft Commander executing an emergency landing while on a Special Operations Mission near Kandahar, Afghanistan. Under extreme circumstances, as a result of his mission, Randy saved 16 Americans that day. He was 43. After his death, Randy’s family and friends established the Randell D. Voas Memorial Scholarship, which provides scholarships to Eden Prairie High School seniors who share qualities similar to Randy’s.


Scholarship Description

The Randell D. Voas Memorial Scholarship was created in memory of Major Randell D. Voas, USAF, who was killed in action in Afghanistan on April 9th, 2010. It was established by Randy's mother, Jo Kallemeyn, brother, Jeff, wife, Jill and children, Maddeline and Mitchell. Major Voas attended Eden Prairie Schools from first grade to his graduation from Eden Prairie High School in 1985.


The scholarship is in the amount of $500 per academic year and is not renewable. It is awarded to an Eden Prairie High School senior who has a grade point average of 3.0 or higher, is actively participating in school and community activities, and is pursuing some type of post-secondary education (vocational, junior college or university).


2012 was the first year the scholarship was administered by FEPS. FEPS is proud to play an active role in awarding this annual scholarship.



This scholarship is awarded to a Eden Prairie High School senior who:

  1. Has a grade point average of 3.0 or higher.
  2. Is actively participating in school and community activities.
  3. Is pursuing some type of post-secondary education – vocational, junior college, community college, or university.


Award Amount

The Randell D. Voas Memorial Scholarship is $500 per academic year, and is not renewable.


Application Procedure

  • The application process will take place through Eden Prairie High School’s Multi-Scholarship Application process.
  • Please complete the Multi-Scholarship application through EPHS’s online Naviance system. The system is available from January 1st through February 27th, 2015.
  • This scholarship requires a letter of recommendation. Letters of recommendation currently in Naviance will be used. If you do not have a letter of recommendation in Naviance, one must be uploaded by a teacher.
  • Applications are due by 4:00 p.m. on February 27, 2015.
  • A committee will choose the recipient and the scholarship will be awarded at the Academic Awards night in May 2015.


Printable PDF version of this scholarship and application procedure



 2014 Recipient

Briana PaulsenThe winner of the 2014 Randell D. Voas Memorial Scholarship was Briana Paulsen, daughter of Erik and Kelly Paulsen.


During high school, Briana maintained a high level of academic excellence, with a 3.98 GPA, all while giving back to EPHS and actively participating in sports and other community activities.


Briana was a member of the Girls’ Varsity Nordic Ski, Track & Field, and Soccer teams (soccer team captain) at EPHS. She received the Robert Moran Memorial Award, presented by the EPHS Coaching Staff to the junior who best exemplifies "the combination of athletic ability, sportsmanship, leadership and clean living". Briana was also an active member of the National Honor Society, where she worked on various service projects.


Briana has been accepted to the College of St. Benedict to major in a pre-Physical Therapy course of study. After college, Briana plans to attend a post-graduate Physical Therapy program. Congratulations, Briana!



Current & Past Winners

2014 Briana Paulsen

2013 Kayla Schroeck

2012 Mikalyna Sell




Sign up for our FEPS Newsletter and Like our Facebook page (below) to receive notifications about scholarship applications and deadlines.




Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon

Sign up for our Email Newsletter

For Email Newsletters you can trust

Back to Home
Copyright 2014 Foundation for Eden Prairie Schools